Valve announced a portable console of their own with the Steam Deck. This system promises to bring the power of PC gaming to a handheld. With specs that can handle even the most demanding games, Steam users can take their digital libraries wherever they go. But when does this revolutionary piece of tech release to the public?

The Steam Deck is planned for release in December 2021, with reservations opening up on July 16, 2021, at 10 AM PDT/1 PM EDT/6 PM BST. Interested parties should be prepared to reserve a console, as it is expected to be a hot commodity during the 2021 Holiday season.

Related: Kena: Bridge of Spirits is coming to Steam, after the Time Release on Epic Games Store

With a 7-inch touch screen, GYRO controls, and trackpads, the Steam Deck offers enough innovations to the handheld market to stand out from its competitor, the Nintendo Switch. Couple this with superior hardware and the ability to play an already existing library, it’s likely to be a hit among PC players.

The Steam Deck even has a new operating system designed for the handheld. It aims to make the experience a smooth and enjoyable experience for those taking a break from using their PCs.

For more on Steam, check out Soul Nomad & the World Eaters is coming to Steam or Best Free-to-Play 2D Games on Steam on Pro Game Guides.

Leave a comment