Whether you’re a new player, or a veteran looking to make a new character, it’s essential to make your character on the right Data Center and World. If you don’t you might not be able to play with your friends in game.

See Best Gaming Deals on Amazon

Below is a list of the current FFXIV Data Centers, the Worlds, and Severs, along with their location

North American Data Centers

The following Data Centers and Servers are based in North America.


  • Adamantoise
  • Cactuar
  • Faerie
  • Gilgamesh
  • Jenova
  • Midgardsormr
  • Sargatanas
  • Siren


  • Behemoth
  • Excalibur
  • Exodus
  • Famfrit
  • Hyperion
  • Lamia
  • Leviathan
  • Ultros


  • Balmung
  • Brynhildr
  • Coeurl
  • Diabolos
  • Goblin
  • Malboro
  • Mateus
  • Zalera

European Data Centers

The following Data Centers and Servers are based in Europe.


  • Cerberus
  • Louisoix
  • Moogle
  • Omega
  • Ragnarok
  • Spriggan


  • Lich
  • Odin
  • Phoenix
  • Shiva
  • Twintania
  • Zodiark

Japanese Data Centers

The following Data Centers and Servers are based in Japan.


  • Aegis
  • Atomos
  • Carbuncle
  • Gungnir
  • Kujata
  • Ramuh
  • Tonberry
  • Typhon
  • Unicorn


  • Alexander
  • Bahamut
  • Durandal
  • Fenrir
  • Ifrit
  • Ridill
  • Tiamat
  • Ultima
  • Valefor
  • Yojimbo
  • Zeromus


  • Anima
  • Asura
  • Belias
  • Chocobo
  • Hades
  • Ixion
  • Mandragora
  • Masamune
  • Pandaemonium
  • Shinryu
  • Titan

Players can currently only play with players within their Data Center. So, for example, if you were on the Masamune server, on the Mana Data Center, you would only be able to play with players on Anima, Asura, Belias, Chocobo, Hades, Ixion, Mandragora, Pandaemonium, Shinryu, and Titan.

You can, however, transfer characters across Data Centers, but this change must be purchased from the Mogstation store.

Related: How to Switch Worlds/Servers in Final Fantasy XIV

Square Enix has announced that cross-Data Center play will be added to the game in the future. But the addition will likely not be made until after the release of Endwalker.

Please also note, officially Square Enix calls the regions Data Centers as well, and each server a World, so occasionally things can get confusing.

Having trouble with servers in Final Fantasy? Check out the Pro Game Guides article Are FFXIV Servers Down? Here’s how to check server status.

Leave a comment